Monday, July 16, 2007

Carnival of the Capitalists: July 16, 2007

I'm hosting Carnival of The Capitalists this week. Of the 34 submissions, these were my selections.

Experiences:

John Ingrisano asks Will An HSA Solve your Health Insurance Problem? And gives his thoughts on his experience. A must read for anyone without health insurance or investigating options.

Thank you for calling Playmobil, please set your clock back 20 years is one experience we can all relate to in some way or another. Do more than pray you don't do this to your customers ~ plan to avoid this mess.

Today's Women In Business reminds us that you can in fact use blog comments can build your personal brand. However, in Despite the PR pundits, there's not much to learn from the Whole Foods fiasco, Steven Silvers reminds us that you can in fact damage your personal brand with posts as well:
The entire business world is shaking its head about Whole Foods CEO John Mackey, who was exposed for an eight-year run of posting anonymous comments to Internet investing bulletin boards touting his company's stock and flaming his competition.
Because We All Should Know More:

Ecobrowser: Are your inflation expectations well-anchored?

Atlantic Canada's Small Business Blog: How would you get back from Mars?

Sox First: Six organizational pathologies

Charles H. Green: Leadership and Folk Wisdom

Basic Accounting Blog: Decide Your Success With Bookkeeping Outsourcing

Interviews and Book Reviews:

Wayne Hurlbert reviews Instant Income by Janet Switzer.

Jim Stroup reviews The Black Swan by Nassim Taleb.

Scott Allen interviews John Assaraf and Murray Smith.

Starting Out:

Don't Buy A Franchise with your Ego:
Some people chose a franchise because of their ego, and what The Joness will think. They buy a franchise because it sounds exciting or cool. They buy a franchise hoping to impress their neighbors or friends. Because of this, they look up franchises on the Internet and either include or reject them based on the cool factor. As a result, many overlook excellent opportunities of sold money-making opportunities, sometimes with a much better return on investment than famous brands.
Ditto on job titles, job descriptions, and daily activities. So many of us are seduced by what others think of what we do.

Related to this post is Is Freelancing Foolish? Perhaps it seems more glamorous, but is it more profitable? Are you suited for it? Remember...
Going to a freelance career is no different that starting your own business.
Personal Favorites:

I get asked about starting online stores a lot, so The Beef Jerky Blog's How to Start an Online Store is one of my favorite selections. Most notable is point 4:
Most people will do a search for "wholesaleing" or "Dropshipping," this is the 100% wrong way to search for your product of choice. In most cases you will come across a ton of MFA sites, competitors, Paid list company sites, and a ton of just random site that will waste your time.
Queer talk about corporate money discusses the success of the 2006 Gay Games. Corporate funds may be disliked, but to many their buy-in gives the stamp of legitimacy. While reaction to corporate sponsorship and commercialism may be mixed within the community, the sponsorship clearly marks further acceptance of a "queer market" by corporate America.

Jack Yoest's Management Training Tip #1, Office Politics won me for this bit:
The manager cannot simply demand or bark out an order for the support.

The manager must sell.
Honorary Mention:

Blog Carnivals: An Inexpensive Way to Promote Your Business Website gets a nod because it reminds you all to participate and to sign up to host a future edition of CoTC. *wink*

Next week's host is Small Business Essentials.

Labels: , , , ,


Grab The Bookmarketer For Your Site

Tuesday, May 29, 2007

Carnival of the Capitalists

The Marketing Whore welcomes you to the Carnival of the Capitalists.

The good news: All posts which are safe for work reading. (So click and link away!)

The bad news: This post was delayed due to our server being down (still celebrating Memorial Day we guess). Sorry about that.

The next carnival, June 4, will be hosted at Spooky Action.

Now, onto the carnival.

Marketing:

Zenofeller.com smacks of rebellion (with a hint of lunacy) with The Failure of Marketing:
Historically, marketing is plagued by one fundamental, strategical failure. It fails to communicate the notion of "don't buy this shit".
Nope, that's not a typo. And don't let my hype fool ya, there's genius in this post. (Genius always has a hint of insanity.)

At Sox First the Six rules to avoid PR disasters are mandatory reading. I don't care if PR interests you or not; this is vital.

The Buzz Bin had a great post on Pitching Bloggers:
What's wrong is treating bloggers like traditional media outlets. New media content creators do not have any obligation to "report" or field inquiries. They don't have to write up a kind review of your product (even if you comp them something), and a great majority distrust traditional public relations tactics.
(This post is a follow-up to this post, Thinking Bloggers and Pitching Blogs, which I think he intended to be his first link in that post... In any case, I also recommend reading it.)

In Queercents says, God Made Me Buy It: The Virtue of Consumption. This line should make you go read it:
consumerism is consumerism... no matter what virtue or non-virtue is pushing you to buy something.
Gender & Culture:

The Epicurean Dealmaker poses some interesting gender matters regarding i-banking in Fingernails that Shine Like Justice. Also a delight ~ no, make that a riot to read.
I have witnessed and participated firsthand in sustained and determined efforts to increase the number of women recruited into investment banks, and it is true that the number entering each year in first-year analyst and associate classes has increased markedly from my youth. However, what is also true is that very few of these women stay. The ones I know who do genuinely seem to enjoy their work, and they can cut the balls off a charging rhinocerous (or CEO) with an indenture with the best of them, all the while making their doltish male colleagues think impure thoughts about their pantyhose. In other words, I am of the opinion that smart, aggressive women have a distinct advantage over men in investment banking. Why, therefore, aren't there more of them?
Phil for Humanity writes about The Size of Money. Those who cannot see and those who are new to the US have to deal with our funny money and it's time we started making more cents sense with our money.

Econbrowser writes on something we all are thinking about, fuel prices, with the current status of Arizona Clean Fuels' effort to build a new refinery, Who should pay this bill?

General Business:


Atlantic Canada's Small Business Blog compares Business life lesson - Business is a team sport. But don't mistake this for just the typical "No 'I' in "Team" talk; this is worth reading.

InsureBlog ponders health care in Margarita's & Medicine. As a self-employed person who knows many others in this same boat, I know we wonder what's worth paying for. Here's a perspective I recommend you read.
You can cough up the $40,000 or so to have your joint replaced (if you do not have insurance).

Or, you can jet to an exotic isle where the procedure is more like $6000.
hell's handmaiden discusses Supply, demand, behavior, profit ... and such like. With 8 points, she had me intrigued at the first one:
The law of supply and demand is not based on human behavior. It is assumed.
Small Biz Survival asks, What is an entrepreneur? I found the ideas for spotting and supporting them to be most interesting.

Wayne Hurlbert at Blog Business World has a book review of Run With The Bulls by Tim Irwin. Does Wayne give it a thumbs up or down? Go read and see.

Charles H. Green of Trusted Advisor says Far too many people are calling themselves "Trusted Advisors", and he's got some advice for you if you're considering joining them:
The two most trust-destroying words you can say are, "trust me." Never say you're someone's trusted advisor, much less say you want to be, much less build an ad campaign around it. It is inherently non-credible and insincere. (I try on my own website-- which of course uses the term -- to say "helping people become trusted advisors" -- and not to claim that I are one).
Businesspundit wrote What Tiger Woods Can Teach You About Running a Business. Even the non-golfers can follow the lessons. And we need them.
In business, I think we often know the things we should do, but instead we try to do the things we want to do. We like the random fun things. We want to plan, brainstorm, hold meetings, all the stuff that doesn't require any discipline or focus.
Can I get an, "Amen," from you all? *wink*

About.com Entrepreneur's Guide discusses Borrowing to Build Your Business. I know a few of you may be tempted to by-pass this post, but read this line and see if you shouldn't change your mind:
why would you want to borrow instead of getting investors? Simply put, borrowed money is cheaper than invested money.
Also, a few posts with neat resources:

The Alexander Report has a list of Apparel and Textile Associations and Organizations.

Prosperity Achiever has a CSS Tools Collection.

Labels: , , , , , ,


Grab The Bookmarketer For Your Site

Thursday, April 19, 2007

Book Review: Cows, Pigs, Wars and Witches

Cows, Pigs, Wars, and Witches: The Riddles of Culture by Marvin Harris

In this book, Harris explains deeply held cultural beliefs which seem to confuse.

For example, while Westerners think that Indians would rather starve than eat their cows, Harris points out that what Westerners don't understand is that Indians will starve if they do eat their cows. This Cow Love is based on very pragmatic reasons, for which religion, a cultural construct, was created to support. And so, from Pig Love to Pig Hate, from War & Savage Men, from Messiahs and Witches, Harris looks at each cultural riddle and gives equally pragmatic theories.

Why is this important in marketing?

Well, for one, we must deal with Sacred Cows ~ both in terms of the companies we work for (and with) as well as those held dear by the markets we wish to reach. This could open quite a few eyes which want to see & sell in a global marketplace (as well as offer ways of seeing and surviving corporate cultures).

But it's not just these concepts which are illuminating. Nor is it the ability of the business savvy reader to extrapolate the ideas of the re-distribution of goods (and demands and expectations thereof). Or even for the lessons in Cultural Materialism (Harris' work in which ideas, values, and religious beliefs are the means or products of adaptation to environmental conditions and/or ecological and evolutionary systems). All fascinating, yet Harris offers something more.

Harris takes what we think we know, what we have been taught ~ and still teach years after his work ~ and re-examines it all. No longer must we accept anything we've been told, but are asked to search deeper, to scrutinize and study, and to come up with evidence for what we believe or state. We must also be prepared to change our beliefs and thoughts.

That alone is a lesson worthy of learning.

But there is more ~ and this is why I highly recommend this 'unusual' book to marketers (or anyone who feels they must specialize). In discussing overspecialization Harris wrote this in the Preface:
I respect the work of individual scholars who patiently expand and perfect their knowledge of a single century, tribe, or personality, but I think that such efforts must be made more responsive to issues of general and comparative scope. The manifest inability of our overspecialized scientific establishment to say anything coherent about the causes of lifestyles does not arise from any intrinsic lawlessness of lifestyle phenomena. Rather, I think it is the result of bestowing premium rewards on specialists who never threaten a fact with theory. A proportionate relationship such as has existed fro some time now between the volume of social research and the depth of social confusion can only mean one thing: the aggregate social function of all that research is to prevent people from understanding the causes of their social life.

The pundits of the knowledge establishment insist that this state of confusion is due to a shortage of studies. Soon there will be a seminar in the sky based on ten thousand new field trips. But we shall know less, not more, if these scholars have their way. Without a strategy aimed at bridging the gap between specialties and at organizing existing knowledge along theoretically coherent lines, additional research will not lead to a better understanding of the causes of lifestyles.
Here's an invitation, a challenge, to concentrate more on building bridges between specialties and to create meaningful bodies of work, rather than to compartmentalize and specialize to the degree that we explain & learn nothing.

Marketing is one one of those areas which already touches on, draws from, so many areas that we should be among the first (or more ardent) adopters of this practice of integration for a purpose.

The 'average' marketing person looking for a step-by-step outline of actions to follow, or guiding principals clearly listed, will be disappointed with this book. But for those who enjoy a meaty meal of ideas to slowly digest over time, adding this set of nutrients (views & ideas) to their steady diet of 'how to' books, this is a rich feast. For those above-average marketing pros who are serious about understanding society and culture, this is required reading.

The Whore's Rating: Buy It. And I mean that in general ~ per this review (NWS).

Title: Cows, Pigs, Wars, and Witches: The Riddles of Culture
Author: Marvin Harris
Publisher: Vintage; Reissue edition (December 17, 1989)
ISBN-10: 0679724680
ISBN-13: 978-0679724681

The Whore's Book Review Rating System:
Buy It: A must have for your shelf.

Buy It Now: Not only a 'must have,' but so good, you should rush order it.

Check Out: Go to your library and read it. (If it means more than that to you, then you can buy it or put it on your wish list.)

Pass: Not worth your time or money.

Labels: , , , ,


Grab The Bookmarketer For Your Site

Tuesday, April 10, 2007

Book Review: Naked Conversations

Naked Conversations: How Blogs are Changing the Way Businesses Talk with Customers, by Robert Scoble & Shel Israel

This book isn't just a business book or a book for marketers ~ it should be required reading for anyone interested in understanding what communication is all about, the dynamic of consumers in our current culture, and the phenom known as blogging. It also is an enjoyable fun read.

I'm not just saying that because it's got 'naked' in the title. This really is one hell of a good book.

(If you're in a hurry, you may want to skip my review and just go get a copy now, for my final rating is Buy It Now!! For those who want to know why, please do continue with the review.)

Scoble and Israel are legends in blogging. They didn't become legends simply because they hopped on the technology quickly and posted often, but rather because each understood the power of blogging for the blogger and the blog reader. This passion is what separates their blogs from the rest. This passion is also the essential difference which separates this book from the herd. And they articulate it well.

Since both bloggers understand what blogging is all about ~ meaning they understand the way it connects people and provides for conversations, not just the technology or the fad aspects ~ they were able to put it to use for corporate communications. And least you believe that's the stuff of dull memos and notes from even duller meetings, Scoble and Israel are here to set the record straight: Corporate blogging is anything but dull.

By baring corporate souls and participating in dialogs with consumers, fans, media, detractors, share holders, competitors, investors and any other person who wishes to talk, companies shed perceptions of cold exteriors ~ or at least show that inside it is warm, caring and human. Blogs are the perfect mechanism for talking with rather than 'at' your market.

According to the authors the cornerstones of blogging are Authenticity, Passion, and Transparency. (You know The Whore preaches on the first two, and the latter ~ which has become such a buzz word that you will be soon sick of it ~ is not far away in posts here either.) When corporations use blogs, either by allowing employees to blog or having the head honcho do so, they open themselves up to a public of consumers and have conversations ~ or as the title says, naked conversations.

For those who fear getting naked and blogging themselves (and the book does cover which corporate cultures and individual types of people should not blog) they can still make wonderful use of blogs by conversing at the blogs of others (which still is participating in those conversations) and even just listening (i.e. reading at other blogs and incorporating that into their business).

These conversations are currently popular and powerful ~ and only becoming more so. The authors say the popularity and power comes from The Six Pillars of Blogging:

1. Publishable.

2. Findable.

3. Social.

4. Viral.

5. Syndicatable.

6. Linkable.

While the authors admit that blogs are not the only places or methods to do these things, blogs are currently the only mechanism for doing all of them at once. (A clever reader can therefore take these Six Pillars and extrapolate them into use in other areas.) The combination of the six leads to conversation, buzz, Google Juice, & trust. As others join the conversation you not only have more of the six but more of the buzz, juice and trust.

If blogs were once thought of as too childish, as lacking any credibility in 'real business,' it is now a fact that those companies that do not blog are now the ones with a credibility problem.

Businesses which do not embrace and enter conversations via blogs will pay the price. Consumers (stock holders, clients, investors, customers etc.) are increasingly wondering, "Why is company X afraid to blog?" If your company doesn't blog, your market will find (and do business with) one that does.

If you think that the authors and myself are preaching to the choir (you are after all reading at a blog, and a marketing blog at that) and therefore you have nothing to learn from this book, you are mistaken.

Along with pointing out why you should blog, including examples of how companies have benefited from blogs and interviews with high-ranking bloggers (corporate and individual bloggers, international bloggers), the authors discuss the mistakes. Using real examples as illustrations the authors give you the dos and don'ts of blogging ~ and tell you what to do if & when you or your company makes a mistake. More than just discussing blogging faux pas, they tell you how to use a blog to handle any mistakes or crisis.

In other words, now that you're convinced you'd like to play, Naked Conversations gives you the rules of the game, a list of key players, and tells you which fields are best to play on. It even acts like a cheer leading squad on those tough game days. What more can you ask for?

For those who cannot wait for their Barnes & Noble to open up, nor next day Amazon shipping, you can read about the book & its concepts from the authors as they wrote it here at the archives of the Naked Conversations Blog. But don't kid yourself that the free read will satisfy you. You're going to want this book ~ not just to enjoy the sensations of a paper read on the sofa, but for the ability stick post-it notes on stand out pages so you can quickly refer to it later. (My copy has so many yellow post-its sticking out it looks like Big Bird.) This book is definitely a Buy It Now!! (plus two exclamation points).

Title: Naked Conversations: How Blogs are Changing the Way Businesses Talk with Customers
Author: Robert Scoble and Shel Israel
Publisher: Wiley (January 2006)
ISBN-10: 047174719X
ISBN-13: 978-0471747192

The Whore's Book Review Rating System:

Buy It: A must have for your shelf.

Buy It Now: Not only a 'must have,' but so good, you should rush order it.

Check Out: Go to your library and read it. (If it means more than that to you, then you can buy it or put it on your wish list.)

Pass: Not worth your time or money.

Labels: , , , ,


Grab The Bookmarketer For Your Site

Sunday, March 11, 2007

Book Review: Your Marketing Sucks

Your Marketing Sucks, by Mark Stevens

Billed as "Extreme Marketing," this books is based on one main rule: Every marketing dollar you spend will bring in more than $1 in return.

It's a sound principal, but it may seem simplistic to some, or completely opposed to what they're currently doing and so likely to meet resistance. (It's clear from the amount of time the author spends trying to convince us of this rule, that he thinks it will be.)

Ideas include:

* Don't use your competitors' marketing as a benchmark (you limit yourself to 'improving' their ideas rather than creating your own ideas)

* Cross-sell to consumers (easier and cheaper to keep a customer and add on products or services rather than find new ones)

* Marketing and advertising are not the same thing ("To hell, they are. Advertising means buying space or time to relay a message. It can be important to marketing or irrelevant, depending on the company and its goals.")

* Don't mock infomertials (stop dismissing them as tacky and note how they work)

My favorite tip from Stevens is this:
"If you have an advertising agency that applies for any kind of an award (Clios, whatever), fire them immediately. They shouldn't be in the business to win ego awards for beautiful ads. They should be creating ads that sell. Period! If they talk about building "mind share," fire them immediately as well. That's just another way of saying they'll camouflage their failure to generate sales behind an intellectual smoke screen."
Simplistic ideas, perhaps. But many will find great difficulty not in accepting the reasoning but rather in the implementation of these ideas. It is very easy to say you agree to, stop all marketing if you can't prove it works, use market testing and tracking, create synergy etc., but harder to go into the office and make it all happen. (He does spend one entire chapter on making the commitment to the changes.)

Overall though, Stevens spends more time 'selling' the ideas and the commitment to them than actually helping you take action. Other than evaluating your return on investment (a simple equation which asks, "For every dollar spent, did I make more than a dollar?"), the 'how to' is left to you.

So now you've accepted that you should stop all marketing until it "justifies itself in dollars and cents," and use new approaches created by "thinking outside the box" to "create synergy" ~ now what? It's my opinion that this is an excellent primer, but it leaves you wanting more... more application than lessons; more substance.

The book began with a charming dedication which had made me really eager to read what the author would have to say:
"To the creators of all the cheesy commercials I watched as a kid, which made me bug my mother to buy cereals I detested so that I could win a horse (which I would have hat to be housed on a one-bedroom apartment in Queens). That was marketing!"
But while Mr. Stevens made me grab the book with all the glee of a giddy girl wanting a free pony, by the end I too was unhappy eating the cereal ~ and still without a pony.

I can't say this book isn't worth the read; it is. It's a great source of ideas. But it just didn't deliver all it could have. Your Marketing Sucks is a quick read, which, like its attention grabbing title, is full of catchy lines & neat bullet points. It's a foundation for marketers, which will likely lead to more questions; questions which other books can likely help you answer. My rating: Check Out

Title: Your Marketing Sucks. (Hardcover)
Author: Mark Stevens
Hardcover: 240 pages
Publisher: Crown Business; 1ST edition (July 8, 2003)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0609609831
ISBN-13: 978-0609609835
The Whore's Book Review Rating System:

Buy It: A must have for your shelf.

Buy It Now: Not only a 'must have,' but so good, you should rush order it.

Check Out: Go to your library and read it. (If it means more than that to you, then you can buy it or put it on your wish list.)

Pass: Not worth your time or money.

Labels: , , ,


Grab The Bookmarketer For Your Site

Saturday, March 10, 2007

Book Review: Lipstick on a Pig

Lipstick on a Pig: Winning in the No-Spin Era by Someone Who Knows the Game, by Torie Clarke

The majority of this book is a lesson plan for dealing with mistakes ~ and Ms. Clarke sure has made some mistakes. Her book is laden with examples of big public situations in which she made mistakes, what she did to step up and admit to them, and how she tried to repair damages done. She explains how and why she (and others) did it (ad nauseum), and recommends you do so too.

While everything she says is wise if not true (I can't personally vouch for all her anecdotal stories), and she does offer a complete "guide to the age of transparency," I personally felt I was beaten over the head with her points. Example after example of what went wrong and how transparency and accountability saved the day, that's what this book is.

I'm a big believer in transparency, in accountability. You make a mistake, you come forward and say so ~ preferably with an apology and a plan to correct what you can. It doesn't matter if you are an individual on your own, one small cog in a giant machine, or the president (of anything). Momma & Papa taught me that. Torie Clarke is trying to teach you that, just in case your parents and other educators didn't.

While the author feels that this is vital in our transparent new world of the Internet and the fast open information environment we live in, I just think this is good old fashioned common sense. Behave with dignity, integrity, and you'll communicate better, winning more people over even if you were a miserable ol' idiot. (It may sound funny to hear a whore say that, but as I've always said, whoring itself doesn't take away your integrity; it's your lack of integrity which will make you dirty.)

So when Torie tries to sell old world ways for a new world days, I'm not surprised: Technology may have changed, but people haven't.

If you're a fan of political and corporate news stories, a historian of who said what and why, then this may be of interest to you. But I got what she was saying in example one, and the rest is just a complete re-hash with different names being dropped. Enough already. Move onto something else; I get it and I am bored.

True, I'm already a believer ~ but when you preach to the choir you generally can get them to stand up and sing with you, and I didn't stand up and sing (or cheer) for this book. I only finished it for you, dear reader, so you don't have to.

In fairness, the author also discusses thinking outside the box, and how vital it is to work with the media. But there are other places to get those messages.

Unless you are, as many of Torie's fans are, an old school corporate giant or political guy who still believes you can control the media and the world by withholding information (and then I cannot imagine you're here reading), I say "Pass."

Title: Lipstick on a Pig: Winning In the No-Spin Era by Someone Who Knows the Game (Hardcover)
Author: Torie Clarke
Hardcover: 272 pages
Publisher: Free Press (January 31, 2006)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0743271165
ISBN-13: 978-0743271165

The Whore's Book Review Rating System:

Buy It: A must have for your shelf.

Buy It Now: Not only a 'must have,' but so good, you should rush order it.

Check Out: Go to your library and read it. (If it means more than that to you, then you can buy it or put it on your wish list.)

Pass: Not worth your time or money.

Labels: , , ,


Grab The Bookmarketer For Your Site

Tuesday, January 2, 2007

Mini-Book Reviews

If I were teaching a class on Internet marketing, these books would be required reading:

* Selling on the Net: The Complete Guide by Herschell Gordon Lewis & Robert D. Lewis, was one of the first serious books I had ever read about selling on the net. It hasn't been updated recently, but since it is not a technology driven book, I don't think it is dated at all. One of the best books providing an overview of how the Internet is viewed, how people react to it, and why ecommerce, selling services & marketing will work online. This is a great basic overview, and even if you have been online for awhile, you will benefit from reading it. Has many illustrations of websites that do & don't 'work' and profiles of companies, so you get real examples.

* Net Words: Creating High-Impact Online Copy by Nick Usborne is a treasure! Copyright, 2002. Usborne uses his marketing knowledge & experience to detail just what works in writing on the Internet. He covers everything you need to know on how to make your website work - that means how to get viewers to stay. If you site is not interesting to viewers, from a text & content point of view, they will click in & just easy quickly, click out. But, if your site is well written, they will stay, maybe even long enough to buy! If they don't buy, they will certainly remember you, be likely to use your 'tell-a-friend', bookmark your site, subscribe etc. In fact, what he tells you works for newsletters & zines too. You all know how much I believe in site content folks, so if this guy excites me this much, it must be fabulous! Not to sound like a Ginsu salesman, 'but wait, there's more!' Usborne also covers how to write the text that is your product/service description, or in the biz lingo, 'your sales copy.' So if you want to learn more ways to increase viewer interest & sales, then grab the book.

* A New Brand World: 8 Principles for Achieving Brand Leadership in the 21st Century by Scott Bedbury. Copyright 2002. (I linked to the softcover to give you the cheapest option, however if you prefer, the hardcover is still available.) Some of you may be wondering what 'branding' is... Branding is the ability to make a company be more than just a company. It moves past the idea of selling a product through marketing, but into creating an entire concept around your company. Examples of branding are Nike (Just Do It is the slogan, but we 'feel' that empowering 'I can achieve it' rush), and Coke A Cola (I mean come on, folks buy & collect *anything* that says Coke!). Who is Bedbury to talk about branding? Hehehe, glad you asked! This is the guy who took Nike from just another athletic shoe company, and created the Nike dynasty. Not only that, his next gig was Starbucks! So, this man knows what he is talking about. I kid you not.

This book is a bit more intense to read, not because he is a bad writer, or technical; it is very easily understood. However, he is talking about much larger companies, with larger budgets (even though he discusses how young these companies were, let's face it, they could hire someone full time, and give him a staff of his own!). So the trick then becomes how to take the examples he states & turn them into something folks like us can use. He provides plenty of details as to why he took certain steps, what the strategy was, which helps greatly. You can see what he is talking about. But it still requires some 'bending' and fine-tuning for us. I *do* recommend the book highly. I think Bedbury is the kind of man who's head you want to get inside! If you are struggling to find a way to make your company & its philosophy stand out, then you have to read it.

© GlamKitty, who moderates the Working With The Web newsletter.

Labels: , , ,


Grab The Bookmarketer For Your Site